PDA

View Full Version : To stretch washings or not to stretch?? That is the question.

Mrspuddinhead
May 5th, 2011, 03:55 PM
Hello all, as a newbie I will have quite a few questions. Everyone has been so nice and welcoming, quick to offer advice or suggestions so for that I am very greatful. I see quite a few people on here stretch out their washing while others wash often. I'm the kind of person that has to wash her hair every two days because it does get oily which leads me to my questions. Could it be the brand of shampoo I'm using?? Do you prefer shampoos with cones or with out?? For those of you who do stretch their washings do you find your hair grows more rapidly verses when you didn't stretch washing?? How often should I clarify, and should I use a mixture of EVOO and coconut daily ( for dry ends)?? Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions. Your answers are very helpful in me finding the right way to take care of my hair.

caiti42
May 5th, 2011, 04:05 PM
Hi :)

Im a pretty oily scalp head myself. I wash every 2nd day, sometimes every 3rd if I'm not leaving the house.

I find my hair gets just as greasy using sulfates or no sulfates, cones or no cones. I think it's just inevidable for some people to get oily and greasy frequently.

I find what works best for me is sulfates (laureth) in my shampoo, cone free conditioner, but coney leave ins. (alternate between de Lorenzo the ends, de Lorenzo Instant Satur8, chi silk infusion, and Argan oil. I usually lightly Argan oil my hair at night as I wash my hair in the morn.

As for clarifying I wait until I notice my hair getting oilier quicker. Once every couple of months or so.

BUT in saying that different things work for different people! :)

elbow chic
May 5th, 2011, 04:06 PM
I don't think stretching washes makes the hair grow faster, so much as it spares the hair, and especially the ends, some wear and tear.

spidermom
May 5th, 2011, 04:10 PM