PDA

View Full Version : cut hair after childbirth?

azhie
May 5th, 2011, 01:48 AM
Hello!

I've been growing out my hair for a few years now, and it's past waist, on my way to tailbone! Well, I'm also pregnant so that has helped the growth A LOT.

I heard that a lot of hair falls out in the months after childbirth, and I'm wondering now if I should get it cut afterwards. I want to keep it the way it is now during confinement (can't wash hair in the first postpartum month) because it's easy maintenance, but I don't like the idea of lots of hair falling out.... (especially having gotten used to hair hardly shedding in the past 9 months!)

Also, my sisters keep telling me to donate my hair, and that seems like a good idea... I mean, if it's going to fall out and become thin anyway...

What do you think?

nantang
May 5th, 2011, 01:56 AM
Hey, welcome!

I just did a quick search on "hair loss after birth" and a lot of resources came up. Here's a link to one that should put your mind at ease. It also explains what exactly is going on, too.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_postpartum-hair-loss_11721.bc

And grats on the baby!

vanity_acefake
May 5th, 2011, 02:12 AM
I have had 2 children and didn't really lose any hair after having them.
Some woman don't, some woman do.
It's because during pregnancy you stop shedding hair due to your pregnancy hormones. I had very very short hair when I had my son (about 1" length) and would have definately noticed any bald bits if I had shed a lot.
Good luck and don't worry too much.

Aveyronnaise
May 5th, 2011, 02:27 AM
Everyone told me to cut my hair before my baby was born and man did I regret it. It's something to think about that it is a big change when you are totally hormonal. Also if you breastfeed it is a lot less of a shed ( in general ) but you do loose more at the end of breastfeeding.