PDA

View Full Version : How badly is this going to affect my hair? (benign neglect)

jenjen10
May 4th, 2011, 04:43 AM
I am a single mom of two, full time nursing student and work part-time and I think I am beyond benign neglect when it comes to my hair these days!

Pretty much everyday my hair goes up into a ponytail, I haven't had any time to deep condition in months (I do use a conditioner when I wash it every three days or so) and I can't remember the last time I sat down to S&D.

Other than a stall (which I am guessing is due to stress and it being winter), I haven't really noticed a huge negative difference in my hair the past few months... but am scared I am accumulating damage that will suddenly pop up! LOL

Anyone else experience times where you did something similar due to lack of time, etc? Were you able to salvage your hair afterward or was too much damage done? Or did your hair end up reacting positively in the long run?

kitten1986
May 4th, 2011, 04:58 AM
Im no expert but you might want to try a few other hairstyles than the ponytail to mix it up a bit because you may get breakage around the area where you are always securing it with your ponytail holder.... also make sure you are using hair friendly accessories :D

If you are trying to find time to deep condition perhaps your could put it in when you get home and allow it to sit in your hair whilst you are doing all the afternoon/evening activities and wash out right before bed? this is usually when i deep condition

If you dont have time to S&D maybe find a hairdresser that you can trust and have a tiny little trim if you think there is any damage travelling up the hair shaft

Other than that I would say that benign neglect shouldnt be too damaging there are plenty of longhairs on here that do it with good results... sounds like you have more important things to focus on anyway with the children/study/work :D

good luck!

Panth
May 4th, 2011, 05:15 AM