PDA

View Full Version : when your arms are just not long enough to brush!

jojo
April 26th, 2011, 05:24 AM
I am really struggling with brushing/combing the very ends of my hair; my arms are not long enough!

Other than reaching up from behind, which really hurts as I have arthritis in my hands and shoulder how do you do this?

If I bring my hair forward the ends fluff and other than having arm extensions added, I am at a loss.

Any long hairs wish to share there secrets TIA

Sundial
April 26th, 2011, 05:32 AM
I sprained my arm while reaching behind to comb too. It's my first time growing my hair out and this was unknown territory. It didn't occur to me that I should be bringing my hair forward to comb until I complained to a longhair friend and she patiently explained how she does it (after she is done laughing :rolleyes:).

She parts it in the back and bring each side of her hair forward to comb. I am not sure if this addresses your 'fluff' issue but this is the way I have been doing it since. I'll be happy to learn about other methods of combing though :D

ETA: I remember some longhairs would bring it over 1 shoulder and bend at the waist to comb, but I find that the method I am currently using helps me to deal with iii hair better

Mesmerise
April 26th, 2011, 06:08 AM
Hmm.... I never thought hair could fluff from having it brought forward! Maybe it DOES affect my ends and I don't know because that's how I brush... I have absolutely no idea otherwise how to brush hair that's too long to brush at the back!

ScherzoDeLEON
April 26th, 2011, 07:25 AM
I've always either parted my hair in the back and brought it over my shoulders or flicked it over one shoulder. Sometimes both. :D

faerielady
April 26th, 2011, 07:30 AM
Had to pop in here and say that I can't wait until I have this problem again... LOL

I always combed/brushed mine back in the day by bringing it over my shoulder.

MonaLisa
April 26th, 2011, 08:01 AM
Can't imagine combing/brushing it at my back.