PDA

View Full Version : Updo Motivation?

xoerincolleen
April 24th, 2011, 09:03 PM
I'll be honest: I HATE my hair in any sort of updo. I wear my hair down every day because I think my hair pulled back just doesn't look good with my face shape.
I like practicing updos- I just don't like wearing them in public. I know how to braid and am pretty adept at learning how to do styles, so the issue isn't a lack of proficiency (although I'm no styling expert!), it's just that I don't like them on myself. And, I'm growing out layers, so sometimes a single braid can get sloppy pretty quickly.

However, I know that I should keep my hair up at least sometimes in order to protect it! Do any of you have any ideas for flattering styles that I could try or any advice so I can motivate myself to happily wear my hair up more often?

shikara
April 24th, 2011, 09:30 PM
Wearing a headband or scarf can really alter the effect, as can the earrings you wear. Check some articles here or google 'updos images' or 'chignon images' and you'll get an abundance of ideas as you notice people with similar face shapes and hair types. Looser styles, or messy up-dos may allow you more freedom to add or take away a little fullness from certain places. Putting a hair comb in stragetic places before you do the updo can give you some lift where you might want it, as would lovely small barrettes, clips, or bobby pins. Good luck!!

HintOfMint
April 24th, 2011, 10:08 PM
I try to coordinate outfits that I know look good with my hair off my neck/away from my face. I have a few boatneck and v-neck shirts that, when I wear a bun, give me a ballet/Audrey Hepburn sort of look.

You could also find some style icons who wear their hair up and look to them for inspiration. That way you could reorient yourself to liking hair up.

rogue_psyche
April 24th, 2011, 10:25 PM