PDA

View Full Version : Curlies/Wavies How do you dry your hair?

Red_Rose
April 22nd, 2011, 09:29 AM
Much like the title says, how do all of the curlies and wavies out there dry their hair after a washing?

Since I'm new to how to look after my curly hair, all I do is after I wash my hair is comb it to remove any tangles then I scrunch it and then let it air dry but I've heard that a lot of people either do the "plopping (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/curl-products/to-plop-or-not-to-plop)" or the "pineapple (http://www.naturallycurly.com/curlreading/hairstyles/how-to-pineapple-your-hair)" and have had good results with it. Of course, some just let it air dry and others use a diffuser. I do have a diffuser but I would like to try a different way of air drying first.

I've considered trying the pineapple while my hair is wet to see how it turns out but wouldn't the hair underneath at the base of the neck and sides look more straight when it's drying instead of curling up? So far, I don't add any product in my hair as I do not like the way most of them make my hair feel but I'll make another thread on that topic.;)

EricaLee83
April 22nd, 2011, 09:38 AM
I won't be much help to suggest anything new because all I do is air dry. I comb with a wide tooth comb in the shower while my hair is full of conditioner. Then I do a cold rinse and gently squeeze all the water I can out. I don't comb/brush it at all once out of the shower. I like my hair dripping (or close to it) when I scrunch in product. Once it's about 80% dry, I use paper towels to gently get the remainder of the drippies. Most of the time it only takes about 2 hours for my hair to completely dry but I think it depends what product I use that day. I do occasionally "plop" it, but I don't notice that much of a difference from just air drying it. I think my curl definition is strong enough where no matter what I do with it, the curl will be the same.

Firefox7275
April 22nd, 2011, 09:49 AM