PDA

View Full Version : Shedding?

Violet886
April 22nd, 2011, 04:31 AM
hi there!
Newbie here with a question, i have been growing my hair since january and in the last few days it has started shedding, i havent done anything different to it in the last few weeks, ive been b/s wash and acv rinse since Nov and havent had any issues until last week, i did change b/s brands but i dont think tht wud ahve any effect?? anyway this is quite odd my scalp has gotten quite itchy and my hair has thinned significantly and everytime i comb it or run my fingers through about 10-20 hairs will just dislodge and wen i comb it albeit very gently i can here the crackling as my hair breaks! ive always had very healthy hair and its been even better since Nov.
What could be causing this? i cant use shampoo or conditioner because i have very sensitve skin and it inflames me scalp till it cracks and bleeds so im not sure what else i can do at this point, also being in australia im wondering if this could be seasonal? as we have just come into autumn.

thank you for any light you could put on this situation :)

louisemg82
April 22nd, 2011, 04:37 AM
Don't want to alarm you here but have your Dr. check for ringworm or any fungal infections just to rule them out. They're easily treatable.
Also don't comb when your hair is wet and try oiling the ends to protect them against breakage. Hope you get it sorted soon :)

Firefox7275
April 22nd, 2011, 05:30 AM
Welcome! :) What is b/s? Have you been under any stress the last few months or has your diet changed? Have you been to a doctor to rule out any underlying health issue? Itchy to me would suggest an allergy or irritation, either to a product you have used for a while or, as Louisemg82 alludes to, overgrowth of fungus/ yeast on your scalp.

WaitingSoLong
April 22nd, 2011, 05:38 AM
I think b/s is baking soda.