PDA

View Full Version : Hair Myth? Or Fact?

Gwen
April 15th, 2011, 01:35 PM
I've heard (from my hair stylist and others) that the longer it takes for you to blow dry your hair, the healthier it is. I realize that hair thickness affects the length of time it takes to blow dry though. But what do you think?

My hair is very thin, shoulder length. Yet it takes me a good half hour to blow dry it (with cool or hot air). Is my hair healthy? I wouldn't think so, since I have a lot of breakage, but who knows.

Gwen

TakeAPotatoChip
April 15th, 2011, 01:38 PM
I have never heard of that :/ The only reason I can think of that it would take longer to blow dry would be due to more overall hair?? I'm not a hair expert unfortunately. If it's true I'd really love to know why.

Kathie
April 15th, 2011, 01:39 PM
I disagree, when hair takes ages to dry it can indicate that its pours meaning that it’s damaged. But it can also mean that it long and thick which can have nothing to do with hair health.

FluffSpider
April 15th, 2011, 01:42 PM
Mine said exactly the opposite: because mine is easy to dry(well, with the hellhound she uses, anything would be easy to dry) it's healthy. But as Kathie said, it has more to do with the hair's thickness than the actual health

christine1989
April 15th, 2011, 01:42 PM
I've never heard that one before. It takes me forever to blow dry but that is just because I'm really bad at it and always get the brush stuck in my hair :laugh:. Naturally my hair takes hours to dry but I think it is more a factor of texture and thickness than of health.

Nevvie
April 15th, 2011, 01:43 PM
I don't think so. It's always taken me a long time to blow dry my hair and I've only recently started to get it healthy (and still have a long ways to go). I always figured it took me so long because my hair is fairly thick and curly. I never realized that other hair types had the same problem.

littlenvy
April 15th, 2011, 01:47 PM
Based on my own hair? I would say yes and no.