PDA

View Full Version : Hairstyles to balance face shape?

ouseljay
April 15th, 2011, 12:32 PM
I am making an effort to wear my hair up more often to protect it from damage, since it's so very prone to splits. (Seriously, if I look at a hair crossways it'll split. Okay, a little bit of hyperbole there, but you get the idea.) The problem is that I hate wearing it up! My go-to style is a ponytail, or I'll just leave it down, both of which leave it open to all sorts of damage.

It has just occurred to me that part of the reason I don't like it up is that I don't like the way it looks with my face. I have a largish, straight nose, and something of a weak chin (curse you, overbite!). The effect is worse from the side. I feel that having it down or ponytailed lets the length balance those things out. Now, I'm not very good at figuring this kind of thing out, it took me months of mental conflict to get that far, so I'm looking for suggestions for what kind of easy styles I could do that would protect my ends but not look funny on me. My hair looks pretty much the same as in my avatar picture, and the thickness and u-shape are conspiring against me so I'm still having trouble getting it too submit to a bun; but I can do it if I don't mind looking like the bun is caught mid-escape.

Suggestions, advice, commiseration, cheese?

FluffSpider
April 15th, 2011, 12:37 PM
A low bun, I'm thinking? Something to look bigger, like a messy bun or sock bun.

Seharia
April 15th, 2011, 12:54 PM