PDA

View Full Version : Hair Sticks and Forks for Kids

Maelyssa
April 6th, 2011, 01:09 PM
I want to have something fancy for my 7 & 8 year old daughters to put in their hair when they get all dressed up. I love hair forks & sticks but am wondering what would be the ideal size for small heads. I'm not a pro at hair toys so I don't know the typical lengths.
Any info would be greatly appreciated!

longcurlygirl<3
April 6th, 2011, 02:06 PM
i hear this is a good place http://asianideas.com/chforkibura.html
and its CHEAP!
good luck

Blandine
April 6th, 2011, 04:13 PM
For girls that age I'd suggest Flexi8's. They are easy to handle, less prone to cause injuries than sticks or forks, can't break (at least you'd have to try really hard), don't slip or fall off, can't be pulled from the hair by naughty playmates that easily - and show me a little girl who would not like glittering beads.

HairStickler
April 6th, 2011, 05:17 PM
Agree with Flexi-8's. I could just see my daughter hugging a friend and poking the friend's eye out with a hairstick. :shudder: :pirate:

Pantsless Amy
April 6th, 2011, 06:04 PM
My little girls love to borrow my self made hair sticks. They're six inches in length and haven't been a poking problem (at least not yet *fingers crossed*). They even wear them to school. My girls are six and ten. Mostly they wear them in pencil buns and cheater chinese buns.

firefly42
April 6th, 2011, 09:32 PM
if you want sticks that are shorter, Ketylo makes hairsticks in five inch length. I use those (my hair is BSL and thinish) and they're great. I love his acrylic sticks bc i can get them wet, wear them in the shower, the pool, everywhere!

sibiryachka
April 7th, 2011, 10:02 AM
I made a pair of forks/pins for my niece's 8th birthday last weekend. Materials were double-ended knitting needles, ribbon, cloth flowers and hot glue. The needles are 7" long, and a little short for my use when bent in half, but just the right size on her.