PDA

View Full Version : Growing out Henna....Help?!?!

smilinjenn71
March 31st, 2011, 04:56 PM
Hi LHC!

It's been awhile since I've been on here because I cut my hair in Dec and then back to full blown pixie in January '11.:)
(feel free to look through albums)

I've decided to stop using Henna to color my hair. Now, I'm just turning 40 this year, so I'm not ready to let my grey show just yet and quite frankly can't handle grey AND turning 40 all at the same time....lol! Fortunately, since my hair is short these days, growing out the Henna will not be all that difficult.

The question is, can I color over it without it turning funky? Or should I focus on roots and deal with the demarcation? I've been using Henna for several years now but only did root application - approximately 3 years. Oh and do you have any recommendations for color?? I use drug store products b/c I'm cheap that way.;)

I have decided that if I ever grow my hair out again, I want color that I can play with, instead of being "married" to one color. PLUS, I couldn't even put a body wave or perm (gasp) in my hair if I wanted to b/c of the Henna.

Don't feel sorry for me in anyway! I knew EXACTLY what I was doing when I started using Henna. I took my time, read a lot and didn't jump in for several weeks. It's just come time for a change and since my hair is short now, I might as well. But I knew that with this change, I couldn't go it alone.....I need my LHC peeps to help!!:crush:

jaine
March 31st, 2011, 05:00 PM
Hi Jenn!

What kind of henna did you use?

My understanding is that it's safe to color over henna **if** there were no metallic salts in it.

Going darker would probably give better results than going lighter ...I've read that lightening henna'd hair will lighten everything except the henna and it ends up looking orange. (or green if there was indigo in there too)

smilinjenn71
March 31st, 2011, 05:06 PM
Hi Jaine!! Your hair is getting so long! It's very pretty and shiny too!!