PDA

View Full Version : Fellow Braid Sleepers...

Kaya
March 30th, 2011, 11:54 AM
I usually sleep with my hair in a single braid down my back and it has worked wonderfully for the most part. I shower before bed, so my hair is damp and I get lovely braid waves. :cloud9:
My issue is now that my hair is getting longer, so is the braid. I turn over and shift a lot in my sleep, and my braid has started to get in the way. I certainly don't want to wake up to my braid strangling me one day! :bigeyes:
Any advice about how to deal with a longer braid? (My braid is about BSL right now.) I don't want to give up the style; I'm not much for buns, or sleep caps.

tinti
March 30th, 2011, 11:56 AM
Toss the braid over the side/bed? Or stuff it under the pillow above your head?

muppetcrayz
March 30th, 2011, 11:57 AM
Hmm. Throw it over your shoulder? Pin it to your shirt? I'm not good at advice :P

tinti
March 30th, 2011, 12:04 PM
What you also could do is wrap it around your hand once or twice and secure it that way with a tie, so that it gets a bit shorter and doesn't strangle you :p

Tiina
March 30th, 2011, 12:04 PM
Start the braid high on your head (straight up the top if necessary) and put it over your pillow. Or tie/pin the tassel of the braid to the start of your braid.

Fairlight63
March 30th, 2011, 12:06 PM
I have also been wondering what to do with the braid as it gets longer. What I do is curl it up on my pillow behind my head if I am laying on my side.

squiggyflop
March 30th, 2011, 12:10 PM
i throw it above my pillow, but this is an old habit i had for wearing my hair down to bed when it was short.. i toss and turn a lot due to chronic nightmares..

enfys
March 30th, 2011, 12:14 PM
I just leave it dangle off the edge of the pillow. If I roll over I'm so used to it I can move it out of my way in my sleep. Never woken up dead from being strangled yet :D

Yozhik
March 30th, 2011, 12:19 PM