PDA

View Full Version : Help with tangled and dry hair!

Ozzie
March 23rd, 2011, 10:21 AM
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here :) I am writing to see if anyone might have any good advice for my biggest hair problem. My hair is very dry and because of this I recently started no pooing and I am really trying to take care of my hair. I don't use styling tools or heat anymore, I oil it, I cut off split ends (is that called search&destroy?) and so on but my hair is still veeeery dry and of course it will take some time for it to "heal".

So, the problem is that it gets so tangled! When I come home from work it's like a huge dreadlock, especially the hair in my neck. I brush my hair at lunchtime to avoid it which helps just a little. When I come home after work I'm really tired and sometimes I just don't have the patience to comb my hair with my fingers and all that, it's quicker to just run a brush through it which damages it even more and so you see it's a bad circle. Wearing a ponytail doesn't help, just makes it worse. Braiding it helps a little but I'm wondering what hairstyle tips do you have? Maybe those "clam" thingys (I don't know the english word maybe you understand) or something. Just anything you think might help I appreciate it! :blossom:

Signe
March 23rd, 2011, 11:24 AM
Hi there, welcome to LHC! I had the exact same problem, my hair was matted and tangled all the time and soooooooooo dry! I never heat styled it, I have virgin hair, I oiled it regularly and trimmed a lot. I have 2a/m hair, too, so we may have experienced the same thing for similar reasons. For me, strangely enough, it was conditioner that did it. I think the build up from the cones in the conditioner, no matter how nice or supposedly "hair friendly" or "detangling" it was, I would ALWAYS end up with crunchy ends and huge dreads after I worked, slept, anything, even if I oiled it and brushed it regularly and babied it a lot!