PDA

View Full Version : What is "professional-looking" hair?

selderon
March 17th, 2011, 07:58 PM
One of the big objections I've heard to long hair is that it is difficult or impossible to keep long hair looking professional. People often comment that long hair looks juvenile or "fine for rolling around in the bedroom, but not appropriate for the boardroom".

What do you think constitutes "professional-looking" hair?
In what industry do you work?
What styles do you like for professional settings?

Finnenna
March 17th, 2011, 08:10 PM
I think any sleek, simple, and neat hair do is professional. A couple pretty things in the hair is nice, too - nothing excessive. Up or down, it doesn't matter - just nothing that looks haphazard.

I'm a student so anything goes around campus. ><

Personally, I like things that are swept elegantly away from my face and pinned/clipped back. Since my hair is short, I can let it hang down, but when it gets longer, up into a bun it will go. Or braids.

Maelyssa
March 17th, 2011, 08:29 PM
Smooth & sleek whether the hair is wavy, curly or straight it seems all of the 'professionals' I've seen taken seriously have not had one single stray hair or frizzy halo amongst them. :D

While I'm no longer in the industry I've spent the past 10 years or so working in customer service call centers for a range of companies. I've done travel, retirement assets, banking, healthcare.

I personally love long hair & always will but not everyone in the professional world agrees. That said I've seen lots of shoulder length or above styles which are always down & frizz free in some modern haircut.
I have seen more than a few long hairs as well. Out of all of them only one girl who was my trainer wore her hair always down. She became my long hair idol in real life actually. It was hip length, straight with tapered sides, blunt hemline & sideswept bangs.