PDA

View Full Version : Putting BSL Hair Up WITHOUT Fancy Toys

Aud200
March 16th, 2011, 07:28 AM
Hey all, newbie here! My hair is just past BSL, and I have just recently noticed that I have breakages where I tend to place my ponytail. At least that's what I'm guessing it's from. :( It's not the majority of the hairs or anything, but they are noticeable because they do not lay flat against my longer hairs. SO...I was wondering if people have any suggestions for alternate ways to put up hair that might put less stress, keeping in mind I do not have any fancy hair toys (yet)

And/or what a recommendation for my 1st hair toy might be (in terms of price and/or easiness to master the technique)

Nae
March 16th, 2011, 08:10 AM
Well you could get a knitting needle and bend it, many people use those as basic hair forks with good success. You can also buy inexpensive bamboo chopsticks. Sometimes they need sanded down. I have seen them painted with nail polish ect, and they come out really cool. At least that way you could get a feel for hairsticks/forks before deciding what more expensive toy you might be looking for.

Teresa9000
March 16th, 2011, 08:20 AM
My hair is about the same length right now. The only bun I can successfully pull off is the Equilibrium bun (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=23). Sometimes I can manage a Figure 8 bun (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/vbjournal.php?do=article&articleid=40). If you have a Target near you, I found a pair of plastic hairsticks for about $2 (US) there, and they work well.

Dina L.
March 16th, 2011, 08:42 AM
Maybe you should try jaw clips instead of ponytail holders. You can also use jaw clips to hold a bun.

spidermom
March 16th, 2011, 09:01 AM