PDA

View Full Version : Layers or Same Length

MeganE
March 9th, 2011, 09:59 PM
Hello friends,

I'm new to this group, so I don't know if this has been addressed elsewhere in the site. I did do a search for layers and didn't find a topic with the emphasis that I had in mind.

This is actually my first night on here, and I'm really enjoying looking at all the gorgeous photos of everyone's long and lovely hair.

I wanted to start this topic, because I'm noticing a trend towards long hair of the same length, especially among those with hair past classic length (a term I just learned tonight, go me!). And now that I think about it, almost always when I see someone with classic or even longer hair, it seems like it's always cut to a single length.

Is there a reason for the preference?

I stated in my bio that I've been studying bellydance for over six years, and have had one goal in mind from the beginning: long and beautiful hair!!

My personal battle with growing out my hair has been affected most dramatically by my inability to successfully develop a style that I like. Everytime I started to achieve some serious length, I became unhappy with the results. My hair is stick straight, very fine, and rather thick.

The longer it got, the more it weighed down, and the more I disliked the overall effect it had on my facial features. I have a very round face, and long straight hair hanging limply around it isn't a good look for me. And if I had to choose, I'd choose to have a flattering hair style rather than long hair. I have tried for years to reach some sort of compromise, to find some way to have hair that is long and beautiful, and also flattering on me.