PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Hair spray help

becca.l.c
February 26th, 2011, 11:13 AM
So, I'm a newbie on here, and I'm looking for some recommendations for hair spray (or an alternative) that I can use between washings (every 2-4 days) and that won't leave white flakes. I searched the forums, but didn't see any recommendations. Please help!

RancheroTheBee
February 26th, 2011, 11:16 AM
I'm personally not a fan of hairspray. It tends to glue hairs together and when they rip apart, it takes a bit of the scales with them. What style are you trying to achieve?

becca.l.c
February 26th, 2011, 11:35 AM
I'm mostly just trying to smooth flyaway hairs and set my hair give a little hold for the ponytail or updo. It's pretty windy here and if I don't use something it looks like I just rolled out of bed.

krissykins
February 26th, 2011, 11:48 AM
There's probably not a lot of good hairspray recommendations on the boards since most hairsprays are pretty damaging to your hair. How about giving Kimberlily's defrizz spray (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=277) a shot?

becca.l.c
February 26th, 2011, 11:58 AM
Thanks for the suggestion krissykins, I''l have to try that. I'm almost out of my leave-in conditioner, so maybe I can get double duty out of it? I also saw that someone was going to add honey or agave nectar to the mixture to get a little bit of hold, maybe I just need to experiment.

RancheroTheBee
February 26th, 2011, 12:43 PM
That could work! I find that hairspray isn't that effective for reducing flyaways anyway. It just seems to make it drier in the long run.

krissykins
February 26th, 2011, 12:51 PM
That could work! I find that hairspray isn't that effective for reducing flyaways anyway. It just seems to make it drier in the long run.

Yes, most hairsprays contain alcohol. :p Just another reason to avoid them!

aberbeth
February 26th, 2011, 01:09 PM