PDA

View Full Version : One of the best uses for my computer monitor

missmanytoes
June 11th, 2008, 01:08 AM
I'm not a big believer in the whole "computers save us soooo much time/money/labor" meme. Especially since I work in retail and Saturday is our busiest day of the week and the computers almost exclusively break on which day? Bueller? (I probably just dated myself. Meh - I'm only as old as I feel and today I'm only 18...with lots and lots of experience! :D) I swear these electronic gizmos know when their malfunctions will cause the most drama. Anyway, this really isn't about my love/hate relationship with computers, I wanted to let you guys know the absolutely coolest use for a computer monitor evah! So here I am cruising the boards late at night with the lights off (don't want my insomnia to bother the DH's or the critter's sleep) and playing with my hair when I notice that is a split end. And there is another. So I grab my scissors and start an S&D. The backlight that the monitor provides really makes those splits stand out and I just had the easiest time finding the little buggers! So I guess sometimes computers make my life easier.

coppercurls
June 11th, 2008, 01:10 AM
Ha, I knew I wasn't the only one!:p

Saranne772
June 11th, 2008, 02:25 AM
I have also done this. Hehe

systemaurora
June 11th, 2008, 02:37 AM
Good idea! I'll definitely have to give that a try... *sharpens scissors* My old CRT monitor needs at least some useful purpose, lol.

florenonite
June 11th, 2008, 11:01 AM
You didn't date yourself! I'm 18 and got the reference (and found it hilarious). And I do the same thing!

spidermom
June 11th, 2008, 11:16 AM
My best place for S&D is the truck. I guess it's because the inside colors are dark and the light is bright. All the colors around the computer are too light, so I can't see detail about my hair.

sowhat
June 12th, 2008, 12:52 AM