PDA

View Full Version : Hair toys for beginners???

SummerSkye
February 8th, 2011, 10:48 AM
Ok, I'm going to have to start wearing my hair up! Ive got fine shoulder length highlighted hair and was wondering which styles and toys wouldbe good to start with? Anybody got good ideas and or pics? I don't want to waste a lot of money on toys that won't be suitable so thought I would ask you experienced folk what would be good to start with!

Rocket22
February 8th, 2011, 11:02 AM
I'm new to toys too and have very fine hair and my first toy is the flexi8 and I love them! easy, pretty and they work :)

torrilin
February 8th, 2011, 11:13 AM
IME, fine, straight and shoulder length is too short to really wear up. Half ups are possible. Side combs are useful. You may be able to do a French braid or twin French braids. Ponytails are dicey.

A regular English braid is probably out, and buns are just not possible.

If your hair isn't very slippery, a French twist or peacock twist might work. (mine is too slippery)

Kittin
February 8th, 2011, 12:28 PM
When my fine hair was your length, I used flexi 8s, the tiny ones and the small ficcare clips. My hair is at waist now and I still use the smaller ficcare. They are very comfortable too. And they also held the french and peacock twists well. If your hair is a little too short, just tuck the lose strands up and secure with a bobby pin. This in one of the few hairstyles, I actually have mastered.

I've started with a mini flexi 8 and I'm up to a small for updos. I still use the minis for half ups. If my hair feels rough to me, I can't wear the flexi 8s because they get caught in my hair.