PDA

View Full Version : Problem Oily Hair! HELP!

LovingLongHair
February 4th, 2011, 09:18 PM
Hi, I'm new to LHC and needed to ask a question that might sound a bit silly to ya'll (sorry, I'm a southern girl :)). I have mid back hair (haven't gotten around to measuring it in inches, but will soon), like in between BSL and waist. It is dry from damage :o and just the weather. I moisturize it with 3MM and try my best to protect it. I need to condition my scalp, but if I do then I have a problem with my oily scalp! I have an extremely oily scalp and if I go more than one day without washing it looks just absolutely nasty! And if I condition my hair up higher than the shaft of my hair then it just looks horrible within a couple of hours. Ahhhh! It's frustrating! So what do you do for oily scalp and dry hair? TIA :)

Mika

aisling
February 4th, 2011, 10:29 PM
Why do you need to condition your scalp? That seems to have many side effects, like the oiliness you mention. Usually it's recommended to condition from about the ears down, especially with an oily scalp. I also have an oily scalp and dry hair and wash every second day thanks to this, but I only use conditioner on the length, from the neck down. It's the length that is dry, not the hair closest to my scalp.

If you find that the hair on top of your head needs a little something, how about pre-wash oiling or, put conditioner there before washing with shampoo? This might sound strange, but could help you.

Other than that, other washing methods than the standard shampoo + conditioner might help you, CO (conditioner only) for example.

Fufu
February 5th, 2011, 12:26 AM
For your hair case, I will recommend not to condition your scalp as well.

aggie_deirde
February 5th, 2011, 03:21 AM
Do a vinegar rinse.Ι have extreamely oily hair and I can get by up to 4 days without washing(victory!)Add 2 spoonfuls to a litre of water and rinse your sampoo with it and then with regular water.It does wonders!

knux