PDA

View Full Version : Could stretching washes be making my scalp flip out?

Charlotte:)
January 31st, 2011, 08:09 PM
Here's some background information:
A few years ago, I used to wash my hair every other day, and I had no scalp problems whatsoever. Then I found LHC and started stretching washes to every third day, and I still had no scalp problems whatsoever. Over the summer I tried washing my hair once a week, but that would make my scalp itch like crazy and I would shed a lot.

Since then I have been washing every third day again for several months, but now my scalp is flipping out again. Not only is it itchy, but when I scratch it there is white stuff under my fingernails (sebum, I think). Does this mean I should wash every other day again? Or is the sebum just not being distributed well enough for some reason? Or perhaps it's a fungal thing? What do you think?
P.S. My scalp gets greasy pretty quickly (by the second day), if that makes a difference.

HintOfMint
January 31st, 2011, 08:38 PM
It could be a bacterial thing. Some people have sensitive skin on their scalps, so excessive washing can irritate it. For the rest of us, regular washing is a necessary part of good hygiene.

The white stuff is probably sebum mixed with skin cells and is normal if you haven't washed it. If you're starting to get that icky scalp smell, I'd say it's time for a wash because the bacteria that lives there is probably starting to thrive on the excess sebum and skin cells. It's probably causing the itching too, although that could be from the dry winter air.

Think about it, our hair traps most of the debris on our scalps so it can't really clean itself. Brushing helps but it's not the best way to get a clean scalp.

Try washing every other day and try CWC, or scalp-only washes (if your hair is long enough) to protect your ends if that is a concern.

spidermom
January 31st, 2011, 08:56 PM
Do a clarifying wash.