PDA

View Full Version : How to get Coconut Oil out of your hair

Phiona
January 28th, 2011, 03:44 PM
So I've been oiling my hair for about 6 months. I usually mix two or three oils and then cover my entire head with the mixture. Well I've been reading about how good coconut oil is for your hair so I decided to do one treatment of JUST coconut oil. Ok so here's the problem... I usually wash my hair with cool/cold water so when I washed my hair the cold water made the coconut oil HARD :( i ended up with a tangley mess. I ended up rinsing it with hot water to get it out and the hot water dried out my hair so the treatment was pretty much pointless :( Has this happened to any one else and how do you fix it?

Rocket22
January 28th, 2011, 03:49 PM
I use Conditioner only to get it out and that works great for me. I use warm water then I follow up with a cold rinse and then use white vinegar diluted in a spray bottle and just leave that on. So far so good, and I have been using the Coconut oil now about every other night and wash it out in the morning for about a month or so

Una
January 28th, 2011, 04:03 PM
Did you wash with shampoo at all? When I do a coconut oil treatment, it usually washes out very well with diluted shampoo. Don't worry about losing the benefits of the coconut oil by doing this. Coconut oil is one of the few natural oils that has chemical properties allowing it to penetrate the hair shaft.
The softness and shine granted to your hair by the coconut oil should remain after a shampoo (particularly a suflate-free shampoo).

Athena's Owl
January 28th, 2011, 04:04 PM
I use warm water for showers and i never do a cool rinse (brr)

But you must remember that coconut oil solidifies at about 25 degrees celsuis, so it's solid at (typical) room temperature (Not in here. It's always so hot in my apartment. Whine.)

in order to be effective, coconut oil needs warmth. I've had my hair stiffen on winter days because of the coconut oil.