PDA

View Full Version : Highlights help!

Gracie123
January 25th, 2011, 06:50 AM
:waving: Hi! Newbie here!

My husband really likes my hair blond. I experimented with loads of colours when I was younger (I have naturally dark brown hair) but since we got married he pays for me to have it highlighted very nicely at a fancy salon so that I can be blonde.

Thing is, recently I caught the hair growing bug! I've seen all your photos and I want long and glorious locks too! Every time I get my hair lightened they convince me to chop off quite a lot (my hair grows super fast, but not super healthy). :scissors:

So I'm looking for advice:

i) is there a healthier way to be blonde than highlights? I notice a lot of people use henna for health and colour. Is there something similar for blondes?

ii) how can I be more assertive and tell the hairdresser that under no circumstances do I want her to chop my hair shorter! :slap:

Lemur_Catta
January 25th, 2011, 07:08 AM
a) No, the only way to go blonde if your natural color is dark brown is bleaching, and it's always at least a little bit damaging, especially because your hair is naturally so dark. Henna won't lighten your hair. You could try lightening with peroxide after applying coconut oil for protection, or honey lightening, but I don't think it would be the same as highlights.

b) Just tell them "I don't want you to cut my hair" or "no more than 1 inch" and if they don't listen, refuse to pay and ask to speak to a manager.

Anyway, it's not like you can't grow long hair because you highlight, but you will need to take care of your hair very well: being gentle, little or no heat, things like that.
I think that, unless we have very resilient hair, we all can choose only one "hair sin" like bleaching or heat styling...people who can do both and have nice looking hair are rare, wish I was one of them :D