PDA

View Full Version : New and looking for advice

golfgal
January 16th, 2011, 03:49 PM
I rarely - OK, never go to salons and usually just trim it myself. My hair is about 24" long and very straight with bangs, and I've been dying it for many years now. (Revlon Colorsilk about once every 6-8 weeks) I only occasionally curl it, but it is my preferred finished "done up" look.

For detangling, I've been using Suave Humectant conditioner which is about as good as I have been able to find for untangling results out of the shower. Still, I do get tangles and hair breaks a lot. I also seem to get other breaks and split ends so I end up with all kinds of different short hairs popping out of my head all over the place. I never blow dry, always air dry and untangle gently with fingers and a wide tooth "shower" type comb only - no brushes ever. I'm amazed at how some gals can have such smooth, even, perfect hair and I look like a Chia pet.

I don't have the money to go to salons, so have to DIY as much as possible. $30 bottles of magic goo leave me with the feeling of buying snake oil type of fake potions, so I've found what works best on a limited budget I think - but am looking for something better.

Sooooo, what do you all think would help me?

Totally frayed in California

Rosalaun
January 16th, 2011, 04:12 PM
Welcome to LHC :)
Well the best place to start is to CWC your hair - basically condition the length, shampoo the roots. Then wash it all out and condition it all. Lots of people on here (including me) also find that washing the hair in cold water right at the end helps to add shine. Generally it's advised to just make small changes and give them at least 2 weeks before you decide if it is a good or bad change. You'll probably end up experimenting with a few different types of shampoo and conditioner before you find a set that works.