PDA

View Full Version : Hayfever = Itchy Scalp

hurricane_gia
June 7th, 2008, 06:07 PM
I have year-round Hayfever, and I have noticed that I am frequently itchy all over. Sometimes my scalp is so itchy, I have to scratch . . . and then I find "shed" hairs in my fingernails.

Are these hairs that would shed anyway, or am I ripping it out of my scalp by scratching? It's only one or two a day, but still, I don't want to do anything damaging to my hair.

Xandergrammy
June 7th, 2008, 08:18 PM
I have a similar problem. I also have year round allergies that make me itchy all over and I also have a panic disorder. One of my self soothing behaviors is to pick at a certain spot on my scalp. To tell you the truth, I'm amazed that I still have hair growing in this spot, because I've been picking at it for at least 25 years. :oops: Since finding TLHC, I'm really trying to stop picking. I keep my fingernails short which really helps alot.

P.S. I just realized that I didn't really answer your question. My thought is that I was damaging good hair (and sensitive scalp) which is why I decided to keep my nails short.

lady G
June 8th, 2008, 05:12 AM
I have year-round Hayfever, and I have noticed that I am frequently itchy all over. Sometimes my scalp is so itchy, I have to scratch . . . and then I find "shed" hairs in my fingernails.

Are these hairs that would shed anyway, or am I ripping it out of my scalp by scratching? It's only one or two a day, but still, I don't want to do anything damaging to my hair.

I suffer from hayfever and odd itchy rashes etc in summer and I take piriton antihistamine tablets during the summer months and find they work really well for the hayfever and the itchy rashes etc they do have a downside of making you feel drowsy when you first start taking them but you soon get used to it.

Xandergrammy
June 8th, 2008, 07:49 AM