PDA

View Full Version : Pulling out my hair. Litterally.

perkidanman
January 12th, 2011, 12:30 AM
So I'm kind of new to LHC but I haven't really come across anyone else that does this.

Long story short is occasionally I'll feel a tug or something in my hair and i'll try and fix it, which usually means i pull that hair out. I don't know if it's the sensation or what but I end up pulling out a lot of hair in an absent minded way until I realize what I've been doing. It actually started out when I was in high school and I had my hair in a pony tail. I noticed that I had all these short hairs on top of my head (those baby ones but they were always really thick and blunt tipped on me) so I pulled them out for a "cleaner" look. I don't know if there's a term for this. I don't do it often enough to give myself a bald spot but I am noticing that my doing it has seemed to thin my hair out significantly. Does anyone else have this problem or know of a way to stop doing it? I don't wear hats or head scarfs or anything and I need a lot to keep my hair up as far as sticks go since my hair is layered and slippery. Help! I don't want to do this anymore!

Wheatland
January 12th, 2011, 12:33 AM
I think you may have a mild case of Trichotillomania. If you google it many things will come up. Possibly some ways to help.

I know if it because my SO's ex had the same problem. Except she used to bite the roots when she pulled them out...

Macaroni
January 12th, 2011, 12:36 AM
Maybe this forum could give you some support and relief:

http://www.psychforums.com/trichotillomania/

jojo
January 12th, 2011, 01:19 AM
I used to do this too, started off with my eyelashes and then moved onto my eyebrows and eventually my hair. It got so bad I made 2 bald patches behind my ears. I used to twist a bunch of hairs and pull, hard to explain why but it never hurt but actually felt comforting.