PDA

View Full Version : On Oiling, brushes, and washing frequency

knux
January 11th, 2011, 06:47 PM
Hello LHC! I am both excited and overwhelmed by the information present on this site.

I am brand new and perhaps I should really separate all of these topics, but as of right now, they are where I wish to begin. Please bare with me, as I am still learning. I am certain that these questions are stupid and I apologize in advance.

Some history: I literally just measured my hair and it is 27", I have no idea what that means in terms of length, but there you have it. I have (if this is possible) combination hair. My under layers are nearly stick straight, and mostly quite smooth. The middle layers are slightly wavy and fluffy, and finally the top layers have a few distinct 'S' shapes. Parts are smooth and others are frizzy. I haven't a clue how to classify it. Am I the only one?

Question time:
Oiling: I like the idea of oiling, and I have heard glorious things about olive oil, but is it the oil you can purchase at the grocery store for cooking? Or a specialty kind?

Brushes:
What is the best brush? I have a few wide tooth combs which I use while my hair is wet, or drying, and then a normal brush when it's dry (I just can not get the wide tooth combs to brush throw my thick hair when it's dry)

Washing:
For years my mother has tried to get me to extended the time in between washes, and I have tried, believe me, but I have been unsuccessful. If I wash at night before bed, the following it must be washed. I know that there are people out there cringing at the frequency but I can not extended it. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance everyone!
I'm sorry if these should be in separate threads. I will separate them if it's getting a little bit ridiculous.
:)

eternallyverdan
January 11th, 2011, 07:15 PM
I'm afraid I'm really bad at hairtyping, so I'll leave that to others, but I'll do my best with your other questions.