PDA

View Full Version : henna...should I or shouldn't I?

geosangel
January 6th, 2011, 01:37 PM
I have been reading a ton of info on this lately, and I do like red hair. My current hair color is natural, but a strange mix of colors which can be seen in my album pic. (have not figured out how to include pics in posts:o) My hair starts out dark, lightens to reddish blonde as it gets some length, and the ends are ultimately sun lightened to blonde. (Florida sun maybe?) I like the protection aspects of the henna, and could use the extra strength it provides. My goal length is classic, and anything I can do to get it safely there works for me. I do not want to look like a bright orange, but a deep copper or light auburn would be nice. I have no experience with henna, so, I'm asking your opinions and going from there :) my photo link is below, and the pic was taken this morning ;) http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/album.php?albumid=6998&pictureid=92597

Olyve
January 6th, 2011, 02:08 PM
My hair does what yours does, my roots are a medium brown, my length is a light brown with lots of subtle blond and red highlights/lowlights then my tips/hemline is a dark blond. I have always loved red hair, dyed it once a bright red (similar to a cherry) and loved it; however it faded to an ugly orange and I stuck to browns with hints of red in them. Brown dyes always faded to a coppery red in my hair and I adored it.

It took me a long time to decide if I wanted to henna or not but after reading the henna threads (Every.Single.Post), I decided to go ahead and take the plunge. I am so happy with the color, look and feel of my hair right now; I can't even explain it!

I have only done one full application (henna hut deep red/burgandy mix) and am waiting to do another full application when my Henna Hut red gets here!

I think henna is great as long as you love red/coppery hair, are okay with a result that may not be ideal and permanent and enjoy the looks you get from some people. ;)