PDA

View Full Version : The Family Mane

Arya
December 29th, 2010, 12:37 AM
So Christmas has come and gone, and I got a chance to spend some time with my family. Who are all beautiful, and whom I love very dearly.
But MAN their hair is in need of some TLC.
So I thought I'd check with all y'all before I went and dished out hair advice. I'm only a lowly noob to LHC. If you're in an advice giving mood, I'm all ears.

First of all, my mum and my sister have totally different hair than I do, they're both natural brunettes, and both have different textures from mine. One thing they do share is that it is thinning. I suggested monistat to them, and although they were both horrified at first, have seemed to warm to the idea. I'll be getting them some as soon as i bounce back from christmas finances.

My sister has (very, very thin when stressed) very very fine 1bi/2ci hair. It tries to mat itself into dreads and is almost permanently tangled. Chin length is the only length that she can maintain without serious matting (the stylist doesn't even bother combing them out when she cuts, she just combs them as far down as they'll go and cuts them out. Anything else leaves her in tears and takes hours, something she's not willing to go through). This also causes her to get frustrated, and RIP out her hair with a brush/comb. She doesn't have the patience for 2 or 3 30 minute brushing sessions a day her hair requires. She usually dyes it darker than her medium brown. Anything I suggest has to be low-cost (she's out of work from a spinal injury) and relatively uncomplicated (she gets frustrated and upset about her hair easily). She is a huge hippy, so weird/out there stuff is excellent. She doesn't like washing her hair too much, and uses drug store shampoo/conditioner.

I'm thinking of suggesting to her monistat/satin pillowcase, but I was wondering about anything else? They live in a tamil area of town, so South Indian spices are accessible, but Sally's, not so much.