PDA

View Full Version : Henna and hair dye?

Solanil
December 26th, 2010, 07:07 PM
I've been lurking around LHC for a little while now and I've seen many good things about BAQ henna used on hair.

I want to go back to having purple hair in the new year and I was just wondering if it is okay to either mix Fudge Paintbox semi-permanent hair dye (no ammonia or peroxide) with henna, or if it's okay to use straight after using henna? I used to bleach my hair and use a permanent purple dye afterwards, but it caused too much damage so I'm looking for a conditioning treatment that will still allow me to colour my hair and not cause as much damage. My old hair dye used to state that it shouldn't be used on henna'd hair. Can anybody here please explain to me why this is and will this cause me a problem if I want to use henna and semi-permanent hair dye?

I'm honestly just looking for as much advice as possible on this as I'm new to all of this and it's definitely confusing. :confused:

Thanks.

spidermom
December 26th, 2010, 07:42 PM
Not that I'm an expert, but just to get the replies started, I've noticed that some of the henna users around here like to push their hair color in a new direction by layering Manic Panic (or a similar product) over henna.

Solanil
December 27th, 2010, 08:19 AM
Thank you. Are you aware of anyone who has had problems when using a dye over henna?

Also, I forgot to mention that I used to mix a bit of red dye in with the purple too when I used to use chemical dyes to get a richer colour, so that is another reason as to why I'm so interested in henna..

Lianna
December 27th, 2010, 10:32 AM
I've used henna over permanent dye and the other way around too. No problems, but the henna showed a little in some lights (was brown over henna).

BelleBot
December 27th, 2010, 11:29 AM