PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Hair Care Routine-Honest Feedback Please!

Kaya
December 14th, 2010, 12:51 PM
So, I'm a complete newbie here, though I could be considered a lurker on this community for the last few days. I've been totally blown away by amount of information available. It's crazy, in a good way! :bluebiggr
I made the decision to grown my hair out after discovering, as selfish and horrible as it might sound, what good hair I have. I know, I sound very conceited, but I didn't realize Indian hair is what's used in all those expensive hair extensions and weaves. It actually made me angry when I researched the whole process, but that's a different story.
Anyways, I figured I would embrace my heritage and grow my hair out, long and lovely. I've always loved long hair, but never considered truly growing it out long until now. I was thrilled to find this community, since there really isn't anyone around here that truly understands how long I intend to grow my hair out to.
So, I'm hoping to get some honest feedback on my hair care routine. Just helpful suggestions or tips. Even opinions are welcome.
Right now, my hair is about BSL and I'm aiming for tailbone length. My hair history isn't too painful, I think. I tend to shy away from hair appliances. No hair dryers, curlers, rollers, crimpers, etc. I will use a flat iron every so often, since I do love my hair when it's sleek and straight. Maybe once a month, if that. Obviously, I get blasted when I go to the salon to get a trim, but that happens maybe 2-3 times a year. I have also had my hair dyed a grand total of three times: twice to get red highlights, and once to have everything dyed back to my original color.
I've switched to wide tooth combs for my hair and tossed my plastic pin brush. Recently, I purchased an inexpensive 100% BBB, which I will use every other day, to help distribute natural oils. My hair and scalp feels better after a gentle brushing.