PDA

View Full Version : Perms

lapushka
December 9th, 2010, 01:32 PM
I've been growing out a perm for a few years now, a perm which I got for practical reasons. If I were to have the perm cut off right now, my hair would be between chin and shoulder length, which is about the length it was when I had it permed. I'd be back where I started. Not going to happen. My hair's about half an inch away from WL right now.

Are there people out there who had their hair permed before? How did you get rid of the perm? Did you patiently grow it out, all the while keeping your hair long, or did you sacrifice length to get rid of it all at once?

I've been growing my hair since getting it permed, having the odd trim, but not losing sight of my goal length(s). It isn't so bad right now because I have quite a bit of length left that's permed versus virgin length and so the perm is still very practical. However, it's going to get to a point where there's actually more virgin growth versus permed length at which point I might have to sacrifice the length depending on how it looks. I'm just not sure if I can have it all chopped off at once.

And so I'm wondering... How did you do this?

andrea1982
December 9th, 2010, 01:42 PM
Usually (from the perms I've seen) it seems like the curl loosens enough that it's not too noticable to grow out a perm. Also, because of your hair type, you'll probably get away with it no problem. You could also try braid waves, or wear a lot of up do's. (Up do's will protect fragile ends while you're growing out as well).

erika_d
December 9th, 2010, 01:43 PM
Well, I;m not in that situation right now, but Ive been there. I had my hair permed at about chin length and then it popped up to ear lobe length with the curl. I immediately started growing it and as it grew, I had to straighten the remaining permed hair every time I washed i or else it looked hideous. I have poker-straight hair normally, though so it looked awful.