PDA

View Full Version : Protection :)

BellCat
December 9th, 2010, 06:11 AM
I can't find much on protection, i'm still a bit of a noob with searching so I thought it would be good for everyone to share how they protect their hair in every way.. sleeping washing combing styling etc etc. I want to reaaally protect my hair as it's quite fragile and easily damaged.

Right now, I don't use any heat. I comb my hair with a freakishly wide toothed shower comb and I just braid my hair into a pony day and night (which I hear somehow helps your hair to grow :P??)

Belisarius
December 9th, 2010, 06:14 AM
People, including me, use oiling for everyday protection. So you could look into that?

BellCat
December 9th, 2010, 06:15 AM
People, including me, use oiling for everyday protection. So you could look into that?
sounds pretty cool, how do you oil and what do you use?

chopandchange
December 9th, 2010, 06:22 AM
If you are new to oiling you should proceed with caution. (Oiling = putting a few drops of oil on your palms and applying it like a serum). Oiling does NOT work for everyone. It seems to work for the majority on here, but there is a minority for whom it does not. (I am one of them). People who rave about oiling say it makes their hair silky, tangle-free, softer, etc. For me personally, putting oil (or any kind of leave-in) on my hair causes terrible breakage and tangles because having that residue on my hair causes all the lint and dust floating around to stick to my hair instead of floating off again or just brushing out easily. When I run the brush or comb through it (the times I've used oil) I find masses of tangles, and when I inspect them they are all being caused by dust or lint or random stuff that is sticking to the oil.

If oiling works for you, great. But just be warned that it might not, and you might find that the best way to keep your hair tangle-free is to keep it fresh and clean and free from any products, oils, or leave-ins.

BellCat