PDA

View Full Version : Questions for the salt-and-pepper (who color, or don't)

jujube
December 7th, 2010, 10:05 AM
The norm is now to have colored hair as soon as the first gray hairs appear, with some women never stopping dying their hair even after 70, and more and more men starting to color theirs. Hair is an area that definitely doesn't resist the social obsession with youth. I was a philosophy student and am still fascinated with aesthetic normativity. I have questions both for those who color and those who made the choice to sport their gray hairs.

If you color,

1. Did you decide before having gray hairs that you were going to color?
2. Did you ever sport your naturally salt-and-pepper hair and for how long? Are there changes in the way you perceived yourself, now and then? The way others perceived you?
3. Do you feel social pressure to color your hair up to a certain age? Does it influence your decision?
4. Do you feel like you're in a vicious circle where you have to keep on coloring every so often or lose your length to grow your gray?
5. Do you plan on going back to your natural hair color and when?

If you don't color (Renegrays;)),

1. Did you decide before having gray hairs that you were going to keep your natural hair color?
2. Did you ever color your hair and for how long did you keep coloring? Are there differences in the way you perceived yourself, now and then? The way others perceived you?
3. Do you feel social pressure to color your hair up to a certain age? How do you react to it?
4. Does having salt-and-pepper hair make you (or others) feel like you're making a statement? Are you?
5. Do you plan on coloring your hair and when?

spidermom
December 7th, 2010, 10:13 AM