PDA

View Full Version : Caffeine

jesis
December 7th, 2010, 09:24 AM
Is caffeine bad for hair growth? I'm a college student and I also work part-time :thud:, so it's something I consume on a regular basis. Will this stunt the growth of my hair? I know it makes it less shiny, etc.

Intransigentia
December 7th, 2010, 09:33 AM
Heh, I have no idea. I am a slave to the Mighty Bean and its cousin Cola, and my hair is very shiny and seems to be growing the expected 1/2"/month. Would it be shinier and growing faster if I quit? Maybe, but I love caffeine more than I desire that possible incremental improvement.

Crazycatlady
December 7th, 2010, 09:35 AM
For me, personally, I have had average growth over the past year and my hair has lots of shine. I have people comment on it all the time..."Oh, your hair is getting so long, and it's so shiny." And I do drink plenty of coffee, probably 6 cups a day. I've heard that caffeine can block your body from absorbing certain nurtients from your food, especially iron. But I have a healthy diet and I take supplements as well. I worry about it sometimes, but I still drink my coffee. :p

Copasetic
December 7th, 2010, 09:58 AM
I'm a caffeine addict have never noticed less shine or slower growth.

spidermom
December 7th, 2010, 09:59 AM
2 cup a day strong coffee drinker here with slightly above average growth rate, thick, healthy, shiny hair.

jesis
December 7th, 2010, 10:04 AM
Good to hear. I'm going to keep drinking unhealthy amounts of coffee and soda. Onward!!!! :whip:

jujube
December 7th, 2010, 10:14 AM
Do not drink coffee and hair does not grow faster, or look shinier. I don't think such a minor drug has considerable effect on hair health, or overall body health, unless you drink 7 Red Bulls a day, in which case your heart condition would seriously worry me.

selenechiba
December 7th, 2010, 10:30 AM