PDA

View Full Version : ACV Effects

Eire
November 10th, 2010, 05:55 PM
I've started doing an ACV rinse every other day prior to my CO wash (I use a very diluted concentration). After a week I began to notice that my henndigoed hair has started to appear lighter. Internet research has shown me that many sites list apple cider vinegar as a hair-lightening method along with honey and lemon juice.

Another site said that ACV doesn't lighten hair, but it does bring out a reddish tone.

Has anyone else found ACV to lighten or redden their hair?

StarryNight
November 10th, 2010, 06:21 PM
I have been using ACV rinses for several months now and have not noticed any lightening or red tones, but I dilute mine way down.

Bene
November 10th, 2010, 06:50 PM
I've been doing ACV rinses with every wash for over 2 years. I haven't noticed any lightening. As for reddish tones, I'm not sure if I've always had them or if its the ACV. I didn't pay that close attention to my hair before.

nemileo
November 11th, 2010, 03:24 PM
My henndigo does not go lighter, but my hair gets a lot cleaner and clearer. The shine brings out my red tones more than before, so I think it appears lighter.

spidermom
November 11th, 2010, 03:33 PM
ACV gave my hair red tones in the distant past. Vinegar makes my hair crazy fly-away, so I don't use it.

cmnt831
November 11th, 2010, 03:43 PM
I think it may have made my silvers appear more yellow while I used it; but I've always had strong red tones in my brown hair since I was a child, so I can't speak to that.

Whimsical wind
November 11th, 2010, 04:00 PM
I've been using it for years, and my hair has never got lighter from it. I use about 1-2 table spoons to three cups of water.

abbatabba1137
February 28th, 2011, 10:05 PM
(Yay I found a thread for this!)

Yes, acv has done BOTH to my hair. I have used a rinse ratio of 1tbsp of acv to 1cup filtered water twice in the past month and my hair has indeed changed!