PDA

View Full Version : Starting Over

Pursuer
November 7th, 2010, 06:15 PM
So, I have been growing my hair out for several years. My hair takes a long time to grow out. To go from just above my shoulders to just below my shoulder-blades, took 5 years, with minimal trimming. I think I trimmed a total of 2.5" in that whole time.

Last year, my now ex-husband left. He's now in jail, awaiting trial for something I can barely even think about most days, let alone type out. My daughter and I have to testify against him, the days in between Christmas and New Years.

So... a few weeks ago, I cut my hair to where my top layer was, just above my shoulders. It felt awesome at first, but in the last few days, when I think of all that gorgeous hair gone, I have to try hard not to cry. I know it's "just hair" and it will more than likely grow back, but.... I actually feel like a little part of me is now missing. Has anyone else felt that way?

Anyway, I am coming back to the forums because I want to start over with my hair. I need to be more vigilant about caring for it and helping it to grow more quickly, if that's possible.

I remember being here some time ago, and reading about bore bristle brushes, coconut oiling, etc. I had picked up on a LOT of the things I read about and implemented them, but I am ready to go all in now.

Excited to learn with you all!

Dolly
November 7th, 2010, 06:24 PM
Try a biotin supplement.....my hair used to grow at a snail's pace, but with biotin, it is much better!

see_turtle
November 7th, 2010, 06:25 PM
Welcome back and good luck getting your hair to where you want it to be!:)

OR Cowgirl
November 7th, 2010, 06:26 PM
Big, big hug!! And welcome back! Life must be very stressful right now for you and your girl so please focus on the fact that you're starting with nice, healthy hair without the layers that many battle. And you have a good length to do some styles that those with longer hair have a much harder time with, like the French Twist!