PDA

View Full Version : hair containment for holidays

squiggyflop
November 6th, 2010, 06:51 PM
um im not sure whether this belongs in the friendship board or the mane forum mods move accordingly..

on the holidays my whole big italian family gets together.. half my family is extremely religious so they think my hair is wonderful.. and the other half tend to be in awe of how long it is.. so i end up with 30 people petting me (literally).. if i keep my hair in an updo they usually will gang up on me to take it down.. im not good with confrontation especially against 30 people..

so i was wondering about hair containment.. like snoods.. i want a netted one.. not a crocheted one.. i just dont like how they gather in the center on crocheted ones.. you know that bulls eye look in the back.. i hate that

i do have solid velvet snoods but they arent in christmasy colors and i like to wear red, green and gold on xmas.. and my sewing machine is broken so i cant just sew a green one.. plus i was hoping for a netted one so i can show off my hair a little while keeping family hands from petting the hair.. oh um if you have a sewing machine and want a velvet snood clicky my name and visit squiggyflop's homepage and there is a tutorial for a 30 minute snood..

im not sure if im making sense here.. anyway.. any ideas or links?

sailing
November 6th, 2010, 07:09 PM
What about a cream snood with gold jewelry pinned to it?

enfys
November 6th, 2010, 07:53 PM
I don't konw if I'm misunderstanding you, but there are crochet designs that look like a net, not a bullseye, like this one:
http://www.knitting-crochet.com/crochet/persno.html

If you were looking to buy rather than make one I would suggest you search for WWII snoods as I find more of those have not got that circular centre you don't like.

GrowingGlory
November 6th, 2010, 07:58 PM