PDA

View Full Version : The reaction of my hair stylist

super_pudding
May 29th, 2008, 09:05 PM
Hi everyone!
Ok, so I'm new to this long hair journey and my mom broke it to my hair stylist that I'm not coming to her for cuts anymore since I'm trying to grow it out. Her immediate response was "It's going to get thin." Is there any truth to this, or is she just trying to keep from losing a long-time customer?

Carolyn
May 29th, 2008, 09:13 PM
Yes, I'd say so :rolleyes: Let your hair grow and see what happens. Learn all you can about good long hair care and I'll bet it won't thin out at all. Good luck in growing your hair :)

spidermom
May 29th, 2008, 09:16 PM
Yes, there's some truth to this. Not every hair on your hair is growing at the same time or the same rate. If you don't trim your fastest-growing hairs back a bit so that slower-growing hairs can catch up, you are likely to end up with very thin ends. Plus damage will cause some breaking off. I don't think you can completely avoid damage, although you can certainly minimize it a great deal.

Some people's hair does grow quite evenly. For every rule, there's the exception. There's no harm in sticking to your plan. If your hair ever starts looking too thin at the bottom, you can always go get a trim at that time.

super_pudding
May 29th, 2008, 09:18 PM
Thanks Carolyn ^^ I was pretty sure that was the case when I'd heard of her opinion (hair stylers and their opinions :rolleyes:)

super_pudding
May 29th, 2008, 09:21 PM
Thanks as well Spidermom :) The only problem with going in to get trims is that her "trims" are never really trims and turn out being more of a full on cut

Nevermore
May 29th, 2008, 09:21 PM
Man, what a shabby way to keep a customer. I'd skip this stylist if you did get trims. I assume she meant your hemline will get thin/ratty looking, instead of all over thinning. If she meant the first, then that varies, if she meant the second, she's...well, full of crap.