PDA

View Full Version : To cut or not to cut, that is the question.

Anywhere
November 2nd, 2010, 12:21 PM
Two years ago I got a bad haircut that left me with short (chin length as the shortest) thin layers and an overall length of BSL (from my previous waist length). It only looked good when straightened and so, being the lazy person I am, I tried to let it grow out. Sometime last year I wondered whether or not I should cut to the shortest layer, which is a few inches above BSL, or to my virgin hair, which starts at shoulder.

I haven't had SL hair since 6th grade and I remember hating it (think 80's hair.. got teased for it a lot. which is why I grew it out). But I'm not sure if my hair regimen now, compared to the shampoo/conditioner every day +brush of my childhood would make it more tame.

I'm afraid of how long it will take to grow back if i don't like the cut, especially since I had been growing it out, with 2 bad haircuts, for 7 years and am finally reaching my goal length. I never got to experiment with my hair like other teenagers have because I've been so bent on growing it out... but I'd lose all my progress. :confused:

Pros:
- Might like it.
- No more stressing over dye damage.
- No more stressing over thinness brought about by layers.
- Get to experience short hair for the first time since I was little.
- Get to "experiment" with hair for my teenage years.
- hair will be thicker due to increased shedding and first layer of hair stopping at APL

Cons:
- Might hate it.
- I've spent 7 years getting my hair to be where I want it to be and it would seem like a waste to start over
- 3-4 years of growing out to get it back to this if i hate it.
- Increased need for haircuts.
- won't be able to wear up as often
- it's finally getting to a manageable length

October last year:
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=4113&pictureid=52866

October this year:
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/picture.php?albumid=4113&pictureid=87387