PDA

View Full Version : CO washing with and without cones

liagibba
November 1st, 2010, 10:01 PM
I've been CO-washing since August of this year, and I've been using cone-less Suave Naturals Green Apple and Coconut flavors. I have a few bottles of Suave Professionals coney conditioners that I would like to use up, but I'm not sure if I would end up having to shampoo the cones out eventually. I'm wondering if I can rotate the cones with the cone-less conditioners. My desired result would be that the cone-less conditioners would remove any buildup that the coney conditioners would leave behind. Is this even possible? Am I living in a dream world? Should I just give it a shot and see what happens? I'm really in love with CO-washing, and the thought of using shampoo for any reason makes me worrisome.

(ps: please forgive me if this is a redundant thread...)

jujube
November 3rd, 2010, 12:22 PM
I'm wondering the same thing as I'm new to CO washing.

Today I co-washed with Suave conditioner but didn't use a second one, and I notice my hair looked dry so I used a coney leave-in spray. Is this OK, or do we need to avoid cones altogether?

I was also wondering if the best way was to use a conefree conditioner first, and then a conditioner with cones?

Vermelha
November 3rd, 2010, 01:24 PM
Think about it. Silicones seal in moisture, so the ideal thing to do would be to use whatever cone-free conditioner first, then condition with the coney conditioner. Some use it as a leave-in.

Also, some people's hair enjoy cones while others don't. Do what works for your hair. Not every long hair here avoids cones :)

FrannyG
November 3rd, 2010, 01:32 PM
I CO wash and I was using cones again for 2 years due to some damage. The cone-free products just wouldn't allow me to detangle as well as cones.