PDA

View Full Version : Vitamin Suggestions?

abritta3
November 1st, 2010, 05:58 PM
Hi all. I currently do not have a vitamin regimen at all and was wondering what types of vitamins you all take & or suggest for hair?
PS I am on a college budget so inexpensive will work best for me;)
Thanks!

Vermelha
November 1st, 2010, 06:10 PM
I feel you. I'm a recent college grad, and I bought all my vitamins on a TIGHT budget myself.

I purchased Biotin and MSM. Both aren't all that expensive. My MSM, 1,000 mg, was like $9 for 120 count at Walmart. Biotin was like $7. In fact, I took a break from MSM, but I'm going to take it again this month.

I also would suggest a multivitamin (doesn't matter which kind) with B-vitamins. Biotin works better with all the B-vitamins included (since it technically is a B-vitamin). If not, you could risk your skin breaking out.

Another cheap route is eating lots of very healthy foods, green leafy veggies and legumes and drinking lots of water. Exercise also helps your body absorb these vitamins.

HTH!

DreadfulWoman
November 1st, 2010, 06:22 PM
I found a good thread about this just the other day: Bargello's Vitamin Regimen - Reposted! (http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=83&highlight=faster+growth)

RubyEmpress
November 1st, 2010, 06:53 PM
I take a multivitamin, calcium w/ vitamin D3, fish oil, and B-complex daily. I've noticed more energy and some new growth!

Raekwon
November 1st, 2010, 07:12 PM
Saw Palmetto (Take 320-400 mg daily of an 85 percent liposterolic extract)

Vitamin B12, Iron, and Zinc (Take 30 mg of zinc daily along with 3 mg of copper)

Biotin, Folic Acid, and Inositol (My friend takes two 5,000 mcg Biotin pills per day for maximal results... 1 pill in the morning, 1 pill before going to bed. Excess Biotin gets peed out anyway)

oh and these are pics of his hair, he's been having 10,000 mcg of Biotin per day for a year now:

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/7569/dscn0994x.jpg