PDA

View Full Version : Confessions of a Conditioner-holic

krt1013
May 29th, 2008, 12:26 AM
So I have to admit --- I condition my hair every day, no matter what. And sometimes, I condition my hair twice a day too! This means that I get it wet often, but I never blow dry.

So my question is: could this eventually do damage? It feels so good right now, but I want the wise words of the fine ladies of LHC to tell me what they think!

Also, does anyone else obsessively condition like me? I think I have an addiction, lol! :D

Jeni
May 29th, 2008, 03:10 AM
I tend to use a lot of conditioner, and that conditioner is heavy. I also love doing deep treatments! I'm sure I would have more body if I used lighter conditioner, but I'd rather have shiny soft hair then frizzy hair with a little body.

Never thought about it damaging my hair. I've been doing it for years, never noticed any problems, but I'm no expert.

manderly
May 29th, 2008, 03:21 AM
Well, twice a day sounds like you have a bit of an addiction ;)

But judging from your avatar, your hair is stunning, so you must be doing something right.

aisling
May 29th, 2008, 03:42 AM
I can see a few things that could make this harmful. Do you wet your hair down to condition it? I assume you do, then be careful about handling your hair as wet hair is extra fragile and stretches more easily. Another thing is that this much conditioning could give bad and fast build up, if you're prone to get build up. Not only cones build up, you can also get build up from other ingredients. On me build up causes velcor ends, tangling, sticky ends which can cause further damage (through detangling for example).

Lamb
May 29th, 2008, 08:15 AM
Er... how long have you been doing this? A week or two? More?