PDA

View Full Version : Is this total heresy here or what ?

Aveyronnaise
October 27th, 2010, 06:33 AM
SO i am a newbie on my hair journey here, I am a little longer than shoulder length and my hair is pretty layered. Mainly it is so layered because i haven't trimmed over a year.
My hair is super thick and I have to say I really like how it is growing out with layers... hides... Does anyone else have a positive experience with growing long with layers ?
I am asking because i will probably get my yearly trim and shape and I am wanting to keep the shorter layers around my face and such , I feel they are becoming, and keep my hair more manageable and wavy.
I seem to have a problem keeping my hair put up when it is longer due to heaviness, i am hoping this will help.
thoughts input ?

XcaliburGirl
October 27th, 2010, 06:53 AM
Don't worry; it may not be the most popular option on here, but it's not a heresy. I think there's even a layer-lovers thread somewhere.

I have layers now and I purposefully asked for them when I got my last trim because I like the bounciness they give my medium-length hair. Without them, my hair looks really blah at this length. I'm not planning to trim for years because I like fairy-tale ends, but if I end up maintaining at my goal length, I'll probably get long layers rather than a blunt cut.

The only caution I have is that shorter and/or fresh-cut layers are harder to get into updos. If you're not an updo person, or if you don't mind bobby pins: no problem.

If you like them, keep them. :)

Dani
October 27th, 2010, 06:58 AM