PDA

View Full Version : Hi guys! I'm a newbie! pics

enfashionista
October 26th, 2010, 05:54 PM
I've been checking out LHC for about a month, and finally joined. Clearly, I still need to put pictures up. My hair is currently a few inches before shoulder length.

Here's a little history on my hair...

My natural color is a deep, dark brown color. I got the not so bright idea to start messing with the color when I was 13. I wasn't allowed to use box dyes at first, so I went for a less dramatic option and tried the natural highlight enhancing John Frieda Brunette shampoo and conditioner. Immediately, red tones came out in my hair and I loved it. I took it further later and box dyed it a little more of an auburn color.

Since then, I've had my hair dyed dark, bleached with highlights, etc. I'm 20 in a couple months, and 1 month ago I decided NO MORE HEAT and no more coloring. At first, I was only going to do henna, but now I'm thinking I will grow out my natural dark brown color and take really good care of my hair.

*Note* 4 months ago, I decided I wanted to be a full blonde, not just highlighted. My hair had been box dyed a black to get try and get rid of the red tones (ironic huh), and then I bleached it progressively lighter at the salon. It took 6 trips to get it the right ashy shade. By then, my hair was so damaged, frizzy, brittle, and unhealthy. I decided to go back to the salon, bring my hair back to a chocolate brown, stock up on excellent salon products (including Moroccan argan oil, which is a lifesaver!), and start taking prenatal NatureMade vitamins to help the new hair grow healthy. I also shampoo differently. No sulfates, and only massaging the scalp, only conditioning the bottom length.

My hair is much softer after taking these vitamins, and not using heat has turned my hair around completely. Now I'm just waiting on it to grow! :)