PDA

View Full Version : Vinegar and Hair dye..

Elliarya
October 21st, 2010, 08:52 AM
Hello! So my hair is sort of between waist and hip length I have what's apparently known as a "princess" or "hime" cut).. I've been dying it black with various dyes for almosrt 4 years..

I decided I want to do a vinegar rinse, but I don't know how this would affect the dye or whether to do it at all... plus, I was going to dye my hair again tonight, but I don't know whether to do it all together or not..

Also, my hair care routine at the moment is..shall we say.. somewhat lacking.. I have never really been the type to take good care of my appearance until recently..
I wash my hair 3 times a week maximum with some kind of strengthening shampoo, straighten only my fringe, and when it looks dull, spray some "hair shine" spray over it.. it looks alright I suppose, but not fabulous... what else am I supposed to do?

I'm sorry I sound a bit silly!

aenflex
October 21st, 2010, 09:05 AM
I don't know for sure, but I don't think the vinegar used before the dye would hurt it. I never use anything for 24-36 hours after I have dyed, but that's just me.
It's hard for anyone to suggest a routine since it really differs for each person. Do you have any problem areas or issues with your hair? It's best to sort of ask directly about those to get the best answers or tips. Seems like if you've got it that long already you must be doing something right :)
As far as vinegar removing dye, I don't know if it does? I don't think it would be any better or worse than using SLS and harsh cleansers tho :)

Elliarya
October 21st, 2010, 09:10 AM
So do you think I ought to vinegar rinse and then dye my hair or would that just undo the vinegar rinse and be useless..? I'm sorry I'm so useless with this! I just don't want to waste time or vinegar.

Well.. sometimes my hair gets a little big.. and I have days when it's super dull and dead looking.. it doesn't really have any bounce in it, if you know what I mean..