PDA

View Full Version : Less frequent shampooing without getting oily?

bluesnowflake
October 16th, 2010, 03:42 PM
I'm fairly new to LHC, and I've noticed that a lot of people only wash their hair about 2 times a week, and their hair looks great. I usually wash my hair ( only the scalp) every or every other day. I find that if I go longer than that between shampooings, my hair gets oily and stringy. Is less shampooing something my hair just doesn't take well to? How does washing less often work? Any tips are appreciated :)

JCFantasy23
October 16th, 2010, 03:51 PM
I think it depends on the hair. If I don't shampoo my scalp every day, it starts looking gross very fast. I've tried going days without it and it def. shows. Yick. My hair is so greasy looking by the second day that I can't even put it in updos without it looking dirty. My hair can't be brushed to be pretty, it doesn't look soft at all in updos but stringy and my bangs look horrible. Just can't do it sadly. I think it may be more of a sweat thing for me though. I sweat daily here so that might be it.

JuneBride
October 16th, 2010, 03:54 PM
I used to shampoo and condition everyday or every other day. If I did it every other day my hair would be SO greasy on the day I didn't wash. And my hair was ALWAYS dry. No matter how much I conditioned it was ALWAYS dry. So then I found TLHC!!!! I read about the different types of "washing" like CWC, CO, WO, etc. I tryed CWC and saw no major difference. Then I tried CO. OH WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! I can wash everyday and my hair is less dry then when I shampooed and conditioned every other day...and when I CO everyday, I never have that greasy in between day. My hair LOVES it!!! So I am going to CO every time I shower...and shampoo if/when I get build up.