PDA

View Full Version : Does long hair cause baldness?

Francois
May 26th, 2008, 12:10 AM
Hello! This is my first post here.

I've been letting my hair grow for about 6 years now, and several family members have been continually pressuring me to cut it ever since. Their latest argument is that long hair is so heavy that it's basically pulling itself off my head on weight alone, and that I'll be bald before I know it if I keep it long.

I'm not inclined to believe this at all. The claim seems ridiculous to me. But I figured I should still verify if there's any truth to it, just in case. I didn't find any mention of this on the Internet so far, so I figured that if anyone knows, it's you people.:)

I am beginning to lose hair slightly, but I'm blaming genetics for that as my father starting going bald fairly young. Knowing this, I feel like I have to make the most out of my hair while I still have some!

Kuchen
May 26th, 2008, 12:16 AM
There's such a thing as traction alopecia, when tugging caused by tight braids or badly balanced, constant updos can cause hair loss, but I doubt long hair on its own could cause that. I'm pretty sure that if there were ever such a thing as a hair growing too heavy for its follicle it would just drop out and start a new hair.

Nevermore
May 26th, 2008, 12:32 AM
I'd say it's a myth. Baldness for most people is genetic or caused by illness, minus traction alopecia as Kuchen said. If long hair caused baldness, no one would have had floor length hair, but women have routinely had hair around floor length for as long as we've had recorded history. It's been fairly common for men to have long hair as well and keep it until death (Native Americans are a good example of this, among others) without balding. Surely if long hair causes baldness, those men would be bald and the men who've never had hair longer than an inch would have their hair still.

noelgirl
May 26th, 2008, 02:08 AM