PDA

View Full Version : Dark ashy blondes-are your roots as light as the rest of your hair?

juliaxena
October 6th, 2010, 02:46 AM
I have been growing out my natural color for about 3 months now just to see how it looks like. I was hoping it is dark ash blonde, but it looks more like ash brown. I think this is too dark for me to keep, UNLESS there is a good chance the color will get lighter. Not by sun. I don't intend to spend time in the sun because I'ma allergic and also I won't go into natural methods because noone of them worked for me. So please don't suggest that. I just want to know if your dark ash blonde color gets that way or is it that way from the start.

Thank you!

FoxRain
October 6th, 2010, 02:54 AM
Well usually my roots are lighter than rest of my hair. It'll go from being almost white at the top to ash blonde in the bottom. My hair is kind of weird. I'm not sure if it'll turn lighter for you though. Maybe it's just your roots that are dark?
I've heard that putting lemon-juice in your hair will help bleach it, but that may only be in the sun.

BelleBot
October 6th, 2010, 03:01 AM
I find mine are a lighter ashy blonde at the front of my head, more of a dark ash blonde the further back and underneath they're a dark ash brown. With sunlight they lighten to more golden blonde tones making the rest of my hair lighter the further down the length.
This is why I dye my hair, simply as I don't like my natural colour variations, plus the darker ashier tones don't flatter my pale complexion.

trillcat
October 6th, 2010, 03:07 AM
I am dark ash blonde/brown, and no the hair does not get any lighter as it grows ( I bleach my hair)
If left natural, I do get some highlights that are very gold and pretty, but the whole head, still dark ash blonde/ brown.
Its a pretty color, but does not suit my skin tone. I wish it did, would make things a lot easier!

iris
October 6th, 2010, 03:11 AM