PDA

View Full Version : What's the difference between an English Braid and an American Braid?

KittyLost
October 1st, 2010, 03:46 AM
The only difference I can see is that an English braid is braided right down to the bottom of the hair, well as far as it can go whilst an American braid is braided only halfway down the hair?

Doesn't this just make both of them an normal braid? Or are they different techniques? :confused:

I apologise in advance if this seems stupid but I've just figured out the difference between a dutch braid and french haha and I'm not very good with my braiding skills.

FrannyG
October 1st, 2010, 03:49 AM
I've never heard of an American braid in my 4+ years at LHC. I think we use the term "English braid" here referring to a "normal" braid to differentiate from a French braid, or what we here call a Dutch braid, which is really just an inverted French braid.

Maybe I'm wrong. :shrug:

KittyLost
October 1st, 2010, 04:13 AM
Thanks FrannyG that makes a lot of sense. I didn't think that it would just be an English braid to save confusion on the other braids there is.

hmmm
October 1st, 2010, 04:29 AM
Lol. As far as I know the French and Dutch braids have nothing to do with the countries either.

Carolyn
October 1st, 2010, 07:26 AM
I've never heard of an American braid in my 4+ years at LHC. I think we use the term "English braid" here referring to a "normal" braid to differentiate from a French braid, or what we here call a Dutch braid, which is really just an inverted French braid.

Maybe I'm wrong. :shrug:This is my understanding too. I can't recall seeing mention of an American braid ever, here at LHC or elsewhere. If I had, I would have tried to find out what it was. The term would have gotten my attention for sure. Where did you hear about an American braid?

mariika
October 1st, 2010, 09:03 AM
Even Google doesn't know what an American braid is.

misstwist
October 1st, 2010, 09:13 AM